Home Tech DOE Appoints Inaugural Board of Directors for Groundbreaking New Foundation

DOE Appoints Inaugural Board of Directors for Groundbreaking New Foundation

DOE Appoints Inaugural Board of Directors for Groundbreaking New Foundation
DOE Appoints Inaugural Board of Directors for Groundbreaking New Foundation

WASHINGTON, D.C.— The U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) today appointed the inaugural board of directors for its first ever agency-related foundation. The Foundation for Energy Security and Innovation (FESI), authorized through the 2022 CHIPS and Science Act, is an independent non-profit entity that supports DOE in its critical mission to ensure America’s continued security and prosperity through transformative science and technology solutions. for addressing energy and environmental challenges. Once established, FESI will help accelerate the commercialization of new and existing energy technologies by raising and investing funds through engagements with the private sector and philanthropic communities. The Foundation will help DOE provide additional resources, tools, and capacities for potential partners and communities across the country—supporting solutions-driven research and innovation that strengthens America’s energy and national security while helping achieve the Biden-Harris Administration’s ambitious clean energy goals.   

“The Foundation for Energy Security and Innovation offers an unparalleled opportunity for support and advancement in our nation’s rapid and equitable transition to a clean energy economy,” said U.S. Secretary of Energy Jennifer M. Granholm. “The FESI Board of Directors will help meet the Department’s goals, and bring alive the biggest, boldest solutions to the challenges of our time.”   

Since 1959, twelve agency-related independent 501(c)(3) nonprofit organizations have been created, which have averaged a return of $67 for every dollar in federal contributions.   

As directed in the 2022 CHIPS and Science Act, DOE identified individuals to serve on FESI’s governing board. Board members will have the opportunity to set priorities for FESI, make key hires including the executive director, establish bylaws and governance structure, as well as actively fundraise for FESI activities and initiatives – including fostering public-private partnerships, investing in companies commercializing critical energy technologies, support underrepresented groups and regions responding to DOE funding opportunities, and tackling a wide variety of systemic and distributed federal, state, and local deployment challenges.      

The board members represent some of the nation’s top leaders in energy and related sectors: 

  • The Honorable Vicky A. Bailey, Founder and CEO, Anderson Stratton Enterprises LLC. Chair of United States Energy Association (USEA). Former Assistant Secretary, Domestic Policy and International Affairs, U. S. Department of Energy. 
  • Dr. Noël Bakhtian, Director of Tech Acceleration, Bezos Earth Fund. Former Executive Director of the Energy Storage Center at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory. Former senior leadership team at Idaho National Laboratory.
  • The Honorable Miranda Ballentine, devoted to accelerating clean energy for national security, economic prosperity, and solving climate change. She brings 25-years of experience in retail, defense, energy, utilities, and infrastructure. sectors.
  • The Honorable Rita Baranwal, Senior Vice President, Westinghouse Electric Company. Former Assistant Secretary, Nuclear Energy in the U.S. Department of Energy.
  • Mike Boots, Executive Vice President, Breakthrough Energy and Former Chair of the White House Council on Environmental Quality. Mike Boots helped establish Breakthrough Energy and serves as the Executive Vice President.  In his role he oversees Breakthrough Energy’s global policy and external affairs as well as leads the Washington, D.C. office. 
  • Dr. Mung Chiang, President and Roscoe H. George Distinguished Professor, Purdue University. Former Science and Technology Advisor to U.S. Secretary of State.
  • Noelle Laing, Chief Investment Officer, Builders Initiative, Builders Vision. Noelle has more than two decades of institutional investing experience, including 14 years managing mission-related and impact investing programs and portfolios. Through her work at Builders Vision, Lukas Walton’s impact platform, and previously at Cambridge Associates, she specializes in investing institutional-scale, diversified portfolios across asset classes to address climate change risks and scale energy transition solutions.   
  • The Honorable Kathleen A. McGinty, Vice President and Chief Sustainability and External Relations Officer, Johnson Controls. Former Environmental Advisor & Chair of White House Council on Environmental Quality. Former Secretary of Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Protection. 
  • Tomeka McLeod, Vice President Hydrogen, US, bp.
  • Nancy E. Pfund, Founder and Managing Partner of DBL Partners, a pioneer impact investing venture capital firm driving strong financial returns while promoting social change and environmental improvement.
  • Stephen Pearse, Managing Director, Yucatán Rock Ventures.
  • Jason Walsh, Executive Director, BlueGreen Alliance. Former Director of the Office of Strategic Programs in the U.S. Department of Energy’s Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy. Former Senior Policy Advisor in the White House Domestic Policy Council.
  • Rudolph (Rudy) Wynter, President of National Grid NY, one of the largest combined utilities in the northeast. Through his work, Rudy is leading the energy transition, driving innovation and delivering grid resilience while integrating large-scale renewable energy resources into the energy systems of the future. 

In addition to the appointed individuals, the authorizing statute language names four (4) Ex-Officio nonvoting board members from designated DOE Leadership positions: 

  • Jennifer M. Granholm, U.S. Secretary of Energy.
  • Dr. Geri Richmond, Under Secretary for Science and Innovation, U.S. Department of Energy
  • Jill Hruby, Under Secretary for Nuclear Security and Administrator of the National Nuclear Security Administration
  • Dr. Vanessa Chan, Chief Commercialization Officer and Director of the Office of Technology Transitions, U.S. Department of Energy

The Office of Technology Transition (OTT) within DOE will serve as a formal liaison to the FESI as the Foundation works to advance the goals of the Department and support technology commercialization.  

Learn more about FESI and how it will complement DOE’s efforts to combat the climate crisis and enhance the nation’s energy security.    

Originally published at https://www.energy.gov/articles/doe-appoints-inaugural-board-directors-groundbreaking-new-foundation